top of page





The Republic of Azerbaijan lies along the shore of the Caspian Sea from the south of the Caucasus. Azerbaijan, which has the largest population and area in the Caucasus, has an area of 86,600 km2 together with the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic. It lies between 44-52 East longitude and 38-42 north latitude. Its neighbors are Russia in the north, Georgia in the northwest, Armenia in the west, Iran in the south, and Turkey in the southwest. To the east of the country lies the Caspian Sea. Half of the country's land is covered with Caucasus and Talish mountains and valleys. Baku is the capital of Azerbaijan and has a surface area of 2,130 km2 and a population of over 2 million. It is the biggest city of the Caucasus and the most important cultural and commercial center. The capital city having a coast on the Caspian Sea is also a port city. The city with a history of over 2,000 years has numerous cultural centers, theaters, museums and shopping centers as well as examples of modern and historical architecture. The Inner City, which is considered the heart of the city, is on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List. Among the other major cities of Azerbaijan, Gence’s population is 294,000, and Sumgait’s population is 279,000. According to the Constitution of the Republic of Azerbaijan, which was established on May 28,1918 and won independence on October 18, 1991, the state symbols were designated as the national flag, the national emblem, and the national anthem. The national flag of the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan in 3 (three) colors was adopted on November 9, 1918. 


The blue on the flag represents its Turkish origins. The red represents modernity and democracy. The green represents Islam. The crescent and octagonal star represent the Moon and the Sun, eternity and secularism.

The National emblem was adopted on January 19, 1993. The shield/dike means defense, the tri-color circular lines mean the flag, the eight-cornered star means the sun, while the flame symbol that sits at the center of the star means the country of fire, the wheat ear means fertility, and the branches of oak mean infinity.



Composed by Uzeyir Hajibayov, and with lyrics by poet Ahmad Javad.


Azerbaijan, Azerbaijan!

The glorious Homeland of a valorous descendant!

We are ready to die for you sententiously!

We are ready to plague for you sententiously!

Live blissfully with your three – colored flag!

Live blissfully with your three – colored flag!


Thousands of martyrs had sacrificed for you,

Your chest had become the site of wars!

Soldiers had passed you justice!

Each one became a hero!


You, become a flower garden,

The sacrifice of our souls anytime for you!

Never –ending love for you

Have got a place in my heart!


In order to maintain your honor,

In order to elevate your flag,

In order to maintain your honor,

The young are intended sententiously!


The glorious Homeland, the glorious Homeland!

Azerbaijan! Azerbaijan!

Azerbaijan! Azerbaijan!




January 1 New Year’s Day 

January 20 Martyrs Memorial Day 

March 8 Women’s Day 

March 20-21 Nevruz Day 

May 9 Victory Day 

May 28 Republic Day 

June 15 National Independence Day 

June 26 Armed Forces Day 

October 18 Independence Day 

November 12 Constitution Day 

November 17 National Development Day 

December 31 Solidarity Feast Sacrifice and Ramadan Feast (1 Day)




UN Security Council Non-Permanent Member

BSEC (Black Sea Economic Cooperation)

CCC (Customs Co-operation Council)

CE (European Council)

CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States)

EBRD (European Bank for Reconstruction and Development)

ECE (United Nations European Economic Commission)

ECO (Economic Cooperation Organization)

ESCAP (Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific)

FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization)

ICFTU (International Confederation of Free Trade Unions)

ICRM (International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement)

IDA (International Development Association)

IDB (Islamic Development Bank)

IFAD (International Fund of Agricultural Development)

IFC (International Finance Corporation)

ILO (International Labor Organization)

IMF (International Monetary Fund)

INTERPOL (International Criminal Police Organization)

ISO (International Standards Organization)

OSCE (Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe)

UN (United Nations)

UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development)

UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization)

UNIDO (United Nations Industrial Development Organization)

WFTU (World Federation of Trade Unions)

WTO (World Trade Organization)

bottom of page